Skip to Navigation | Skip to Main Content | Skip to Site Map

The CRC completed its work and submitted its final report. This website is maintained for archival purposes.

Florida Constitution Revision Commission

PUB 700245: Seats of Government by Loyal Millett

ARTICLE II: GENERAL PROVISIONS, Section 2. Seat of government.

SECTION 2.Seat of government.

The seat of government shall be the City of Tallahassee, in Leon County, where the offices of the governor, lieutenant governor, cabinet members and the supreme court shall be maintained and the sessions of the legislature shall be held; provided that, in time of invasion or grave emergency, the governor by proclamation may for the period of the emergency transfer the seat of government to another place.

(a) To properly serve and represent all areas of the State of Florida, the seats of government shall be relocated as follows:

(1) The offices and residences of the Governor, the Lieutenant-Governor, and the Florida Cabinet shall be located in the City of Saint Augustine, in Saint Johns County.

(2) The Legislature shall hold its sessions in the City of Tampa, in Hillsborough County; provided, that in time of invasion, grave emergency, natural or manmade disaster, the Governor by proclamation may for the period of the emergency transfer the Legislature to another place.

(3) The Supreme Court shall meet annually in the City of Miami, in Miami-Dade County; the City of Orlando, in Orange County; and the City of Tallahassee, in Leon County.

(4) The headquarters of the Florida National Guard shall be relocated to the City of Pensacola, in Escambia County.

(5) The Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission shall be relocated to the City of Naples, in Collier County.

(b) The Governor's Mansion, the Old State Capitol Building, and the Current State Capitol Building shall become property of Florida State Parks.